Committees

Committee Leadership Handbook - July 2014

 

2014-2015 ACA Committee Chairs and Staff Liaisons

AUDIT COMMITTEE

Chair
Kelly Duncan
Kelly.Duncan@usd.edu

ACA Staff Liaison
Deb Barnes
dbarnes@counseling.org

AWARDS COMMITTEE

Chair
Catharina Chang
cychang@gsu.edu

ACA Staff Liaison
Christie Lum
clum@counseling.org

BRANCH DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

Chair
Jan Friese
jan@txca.org

ACA Staff Liaison
Holly Clubb
hclubb@counseling.org

BYLAWS AND POLICIES COMMITTEE

Chair
Russell Fulmer
rfulmer@hotmail.com

ACA Staff Liaison
Amy Crank
acrank@counseling.org

COMPENSATION COMMITTEE

Chair
Chris Roseman
Christopher.roseman@utoledo.edu

ACA Staff Liaison
Deb Barnes
dbarnes@counseling.org

ETHICS COMMITTEE

Co-Chair
Kirk Bowden
kbowden@gcu.edu

Co-Chair
Stephanie Dailey
stephanie.dailey1@gmail.com

ACA Staff Liaison
Erin Martz
emartz@counseling.org

FINANCIAL AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

Chair
Brian Canfield
Canfield@ulm.edu

ACA Staff Liaison
Deb Barnes
dbarnes@counseling.org

GRADUATE STUDENT COMMITTEE

Chair
Helena Rindone
hrindone@islander.tamucc.edu

ACA Staff Liaison
Danielle Irving
dirving@counseling.org

HUMAN RIGHTS COMMITTEE

Chair
Yegan Pilay
pillay@ohio.edu

ACA Staff Liaison
Will Stroble
wstroble@counseling.org

INTERNATIONAL COMMITTEE

Chair
Shannon Hodges
shodges@niagara.edu

ACA Staff Liaison
Robin Hayes
rhayes@counseling.org

NOMINATIONS AND ELECTIONS COMMITTEE

Chair
Cirecie A. West-Olatunji
westolce@ucmail.uc.edu

ACA Staff Liaison
Deb Barnes
dbarnes@counseling.org

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Co-Chair
Kathy Ybanez-Llorente
kybanez@txstate.edu

Co-Chair 
Michael Altekruse
altekrusem1@gmail.com

ACA Staff Liaison
Erin Martz
emartz@counseling.org

PUBLIC POLICY AND LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Chair
William F. Green
wfgreen@comcast.net

ACA Staff Liaison
Art Terrazas
aterrazas@counseling.org

PUBLICATIONS COMMITTEE

Chair
Brandé Flamez
brande.flamez@waldenu.edu

ACA Staff Liaison
Carolyn Baker
Cbaker@counseling.org

RESEARCH AND KNOWLEDGE COMMITTEE

Chair
Delila Owens
Dowens1@uakron.edu

ACA Staff Liaison
Will Stroble
wstroble@counseling.org




Join ACA Today

  • Maximize your Professional Development
  • Stay ahead of the educational learning curve
  • Advocate for the counseling care of tomorrow
  • Expand your networking connections

Learn More

Join Now!

Latest News

ILT 2013 Attendees Spend a Day on the Hill

by Ashwini Yelamanchili | Jul 29, 2013
More than 130 ACA leaders spent the day on Capitol Hill meeting with members of Congress and their staff to lobby for legislation in the areas of mental health, school and career counseling, and veterans affairs.


ACA members meet with Representative Steve Womak (R-AR) during ACA's 2013 Institute for Leadership Training "Day on the Hill."

Counseling leaders from around the country visited Capitol Hill on Thursday, July 25, where they lobbied for important legislation.

Participants were dropped off in front of the Capitol building where they posed for a photo on the Capitol’s historic steps before heading off to meetings with members of Congress. The first stops were the Russell, Dirksen, and Hart Senate Office Buildings, where participants had in-person meetings with their respective senators. After that, the group made its way to the Cannon, Longworth, and Rayburn House Office Buildings to meet with representatives.

During these face-to-face meetings with members of Congress and their staff, Day on the Hill participants discussed three specific policy initiatives (as well as an existing piece of legislation) that would benefit both professional counselors and Americans with mental health needs:           

  • Elementary and Secondary School Counseling Program – helps school districts establish or expand school-based counseling services by providing funding to hire qualified state licensed or certified school counselors, school psychologists, and school social workers in order to improve school safety and increase students’ academic achievement.
  • Counseling for Career Choice Act – a grant program that will allow professional school counselors to better prepare students for making educated decisions about post-secondary options, and will increase career planning resources and services for students through partnerships with state industries and businesses.
  • Seniors Mental Health Access Improvement Act of 2013 – establishes Medicare coverage of both licensed professional counselors and licensed marriage and family therapists for the provision of medically necessary outpatient psychotherapy, at the same reimbursement rates as clinical social workers.
  • Veterans Affairs Integration – despite the fact that the Veterans First Contracting Program (which explicitly recognizes licensed professional mental health counselors as clinicians within VA facilities) was enacted in 2006, there is little evidence that many of the 1,600 newly hired mental health professionals in VA facilities are counselors.


ACA member Chad Mosher with Senator John McCain (R-AZ) during ACA's 2013 Institute for Leadership Training "Day on the Hill."