Committees

Committee Leadership Handbook - July 2014

 

2014-2015 ACA Committee Chairs and Staff Liaisons

AUDIT COMMITTEE

Chair
Kelly Duncan
Kelly.Duncan@usd.edu

ACA Staff Liaison
Deb Barnes
dbarnes@counseling.org

AWARDS COMMITTEE

Chair
Catharina Chang
cychang@gsu.edu

ACA Staff Liaison
Christie Lum
clum@counseling.org

BRANCH DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

Chair
Jan Friese
jan@txca.org

ACA Staff Liaison
Holly Clubb
hclubb@counseling.org

BYLAWS AND POLICIES COMMITTEE

Chair
Russell Fulmer
rfulmer@hotmail.com

ACA Staff Liaison
Amy Crank
acrank@counseling.org

COMPENSATION COMMITTEE

Chair
Chris Roseman
Christopher.roseman@utoledo.edu

ACA Staff Liaison
Deb Barnes
dbarnes@counseling.org

ETHICS COMMITTEE

Co-Chair
Kirk Bowden
kbowden@gcu.edu

Co-Chair
Stephanie Dailey
stephanie.dailey1@gmail.com

ACA Staff Liaison
Erin Martz
emartz@counseling.org

FINANCIAL AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

Chair
Brian Canfield
Canfield@ulm.edu

ACA Staff Liaison
Deb Barnes
dbarnes@counseling.org

GRADUATE STUDENT COMMITTEE

Chair
Helena Rindone
hrindone@islander.tamucc.edu

ACA Staff Liaison
Danielle Irving
dirving@counseling.org

HUMAN RIGHTS COMMITTEE

Chair
Yegan Pilay
pillay@ohio.edu

ACA Staff Liaison
Will Stroble
wstroble@counseling.org

INTERNATIONAL COMMITTEE

Chair
Shannon Hodges
shodges@niagara.edu

ACA Staff Liaison
Robin Hayes
rhayes@counseling.org

NOMINATIONS AND ELECTIONS COMMITTEE

Chair
Cirecie A. West-Olatunji
westolce@ucmail.uc.edu

ACA Staff Liaison
Deb Barnes
dbarnes@counseling.org

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Co-Chair
Kathy Ybanez-Llorente
kybanez@txstate.edu

Co-Chair 
Michael Altekruse
altekrusem1@gmail.com

ACA Staff Liaison
Erin Martz
emartz@counseling.org

PUBLIC POLICY AND LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Chair
William F. Green
wfgreen@comcast.net

ACA Staff Liaison
Art Terrazas
aterrazas@counseling.org

PUBLICATIONS COMMITTEE

Chair
Brandé Flamez
brande.flamez@waldenu.edu

ACA Staff Liaison
Carolyn Baker
Cbaker@counseling.org

RESEARCH AND KNOWLEDGE COMMITTEE

Chair
Delila Owens
Dowens1@uakron.edu

ACA Staff Liaison
Will Stroble
wstroble@counseling.org




Join ACA Today

  • Maximize your Professional Development
  • Stay ahead of the educational learning curve
  • Advocate for the counseling care of tomorrow
  • Expand your networking connections

Learn More

Join Now!

Latest News

Help ACA design the 2014 For Graduate Students and New Professionals Only conference series in Hawaii!

by Don Kenneally | Apr 11, 2013
ACA really enjoys paying as much attention as we can to graduate students and new professionals and we need your help to do so.

Dear Graduate Students and New Professionals,

ACA really enjoys paying as much attention as we can to graduate students and new professionals and we need your help to do so.

An important ACA initiative is our special For Graduate Students and New Professionals Only conference series. Each year at the annual conference, ACA provides education sessions by some of the most famous authors, theorists, and leaders in professional counseling on topics specifically chosen by graduate students and new professionals. Previous For Graduate Students and New Professionals Only presentations have included:

  • Patricia Arredondo—Making the Most of Supervision.
  • Gerald Corey—Finding a Meaningful Life After Graduate School.
  • Gerald Corey, Marianne Corey, & Jamie Bludworth—Becoming a Professional Counselor
  • Rebecca Daniel-Burke—Finding a Counseling Job in This Lousy Economy. A New Opportunity: Getting a Job in Integrated Care.
  • Marcheta Evans—What Graduate Students and New Professionals Need to Know About Mindfulness.
  • Jo-Ann Lipford Sanders—What Graduate Students and New Professionals Need to Know About the Current State of Multiculturalism.
  • Carman Gill & Stephanie Dailey—Got Spirit? Our Clients Do.
  • Sam Gladding—What Graduate Students and New Professionals Need to Know About Humor in Counseling.
  • Sam Gladding & Donna Henderson—Keeping the Boundaries From Breaking in Counselor Education: Professor/Student Relationships.
  • Jane Goodman—Master Teaching Techniques for Rookie Counselor Educators.
  • Allen & Mary Ivey—What Graduate Students and New Professionals Need to Know About Neuroscience.
  • Marty Jencius—What Graduate Students and New Professionals Need to Know About Social Media.
  • Jeffrey Kottler—What Can I Do With My Counseling Degree? Career Options for Graduate Students and New Professionals.
  • Courtland Lee—Let Your Degree be Your Passport: International Opportunities for Graduate Students and New Professionals.
  • Lynn Linde—Office Politics 101.
  • Sandra Lopez-Baez—Practical Pointers for Graduate Students and Professionals.
  • Deborah Legge—Preparing Graduate students and New Professionals for Success in Private Practice.
  • Chris Moll—From Backpacks to Briefcases: Making the Transition From Graduate Student to Professional Counselor.
  • Jane Myers—Wellness & Self-Care for Graduate Students and New Professionals.
  • Beverly O’Bryant—Knowing me, Supporting Me, and Marketing Me.
  • Cynthia Osborne, Pamela Paisley & Jack Culbreth—How to Find Post-Grad Supervision on a Shoestring Budget.
  • Mark Pope—How to Get Through Your Dissertation (and Graduate).
  • Anneliese Singh—“Do Ask, Do Tell”: Current LGBTQ Issues in Counseling for Graduate Students and New Professionals.
  • Don W. Locke—Building Skills and Advocating for the Counseling Profession.

ACA needs your help in determining the lineup for the 2014 ACA conference in Hawaii next March. We would love to have you respond to the following two questions: 1.—Other than a faculty member in your own program, who is a famous counselor that you would enjoy seeing (and meeting) at the conference? Who is the person most likely to get the following reaction from you: “I can’t believe I’m seeing her/him in person!”

2. What topic(s) would you like to see at the 2014 conference for the For Graduate Students and New Professionals Only series? Most of our student attendees are enrolled in master’s degree programs, so while we certainly want doctoral level related programs, we are especially desirous of topics that are meaningful to master’s level students and new professionals.

ACA thanks you for your willingness to help construct the 2014 For Graduate Students and New Professionals Only series. The ACA conference is the world’s largest conference for professional counselors (3,500 attended the Cincinnati conference last month) and we hope that everyone can come to Hawaii. For information on the conference – including how to submit a proposal before the June 5th deadline- visit www.counseling.org/conference. Even if you can’t attend we still would love to have your ideas for the series.

You can send your thoughts directly to ACA at dkaplan@counseling.org.